h1

Manchester, Manchester

November 22, 2008

sleeping-man-statueFinally got to see Manchester & New York by Jan Chlebik, the first exhibition at Manchester’s Artland Gallery. Glad I went today as by chance Jan was there. In the introduction to the catalogue he writes:

“I like being in the city, where the ordinary can become extraordinary, where places are both flawed and magnificent.” 

Which I wouldn’t disagree with. Anyway, nice to see a new (albeit small) venue in Manchester, which is still my favourite subject. Talking of which, here’s one I took earlier. Also saw the exhibition of colour documentary work by John Bulmer at the Royal Exchange. It was interesting to see Manchester as it was when I was growing up in the early 1970s. Thanks once again to Mark Page’s blog, otherwise this one would have passed me by.

2 comments

  1. great black and white


  2. Thank you very much!



Leave a Reply

