h1

F for fake

February 15, 2012

It always pays to have feet on the ground – even if it’s someone else’s feet. A friend on FaceBook sent me a picture that had me packing my bags to go and take my own version. The picture was of a blue heritage plaque telling passers-by that “George Orwell Lived Here” with a dirty great CCTV camera in the shot. Just the thing for my upcoming exhibition I thought. So did several other people as they sent me links (which if nothing else proves my friends know what I like). One friend dug out the address (Portabello Rd) and another went and visited. Alas the picture was a fake, but at least I didn’t have to spend the train fare finding out.
Faked picture [Left] Sue Foll’s picture [Right] 

8 comments

  1. The mystery of the fake cctv camera in front of George Orwell’s house has been solved. Regular viewers will remember we dispatched our London Bureau Chief to the scene to investigate and she found no such camera. Turns out the photo is one of a series by Steve Ullathorne, ‘Restyles of the Dead and Famous’ where he added elements to photos of people with blue plaques on their former homes.

    http://www.ullapix.com/Steve_Ullathorne_photography/Restyles_of_the_Dead_and_Famous.html#24


    • Thank you! I thought about this picture. Now, I know this isn’t true.


      • You’re welcome – all part of the service.


      • :))


  2. Visited? Isn’t that what Google Street View is for?


  3. […] CCTV Camera vor George Orwells Haus.Das ist kein echtes Bild (Siehe https://daviddunnico.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/f-for-fake/) […]


  4. Why even think of going there when you have the internet: https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@51.5111488,-0.198577,3a,75y,355.65h,86.91t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1s4_ghsPfIpK0eupUvUF8dtQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656!6m1!1e1
    Mind you, doing that is kind of Orwellian… LOL



Leave a Reply

